Rhode Island Tenant-Landlord Law

Rhode-Island

Fair Housing

The Fair Housing Act was created in order to ensure that everyone is treated equally during the housing process. It protects tenants from discrimination when seraching for a rental property. At the federal level the Fair Housing Act protects the following classes…

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status
  • Disability

Learn about fair housing at the federal level here /landlord-must-know-fair-housing/

In addition to the federal fair housing laws, Rhode Island prohibits discrimination on the basis of...

  • Marital status
  • Sexual orientation
  • Age
  • Gender identity or expression
  • Being a victim of domestic abuse

Additionally, it is illegal to discriminate against someone because of his/her association with a protected class.
(RI Gen. Law § 34-37-2)

Eviction Laws

Rhode-Island-Eviction-Laws
  • When it is failure to pay rent, the tenant has 5 days to pay you otherwise the eviction notice can be filed with the courts.
  • When there is another lease violation (e.g. subletting), the tenant has 20 days to resolve the violation from the point that the eviction notice is served. Otherwise the eviction notice will be filed with the courts.

Early Termination of Lease

When there is not a lease violation, but the landlord or tenant wants to break the lease, the following regulations apply:

Early termination by landlord

If the landlord wishes to terminate the lease early, they have to give a notice period of at least 10 days before date specified for termination for week to week lease; at least 30 days before date specified for termination for a month to month lease; at least 3 months prior to the expiration of the occupation year for an annual lease.

Early termination by tenant

If the tenant wishes to terminate the lease early, they have to give a notice period of at least 10 days before date specified for termination for week to week lease; at least 30 days before date specified for termination for a month to month lease; at least 3 months prior to the expiration of the occupation year for an annual lease.

For more information on Rhode Island Landlord Tenant laws please visit their website here.

As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, the moratorium on foreclosures and evictions will continue to impact millions of rental properties across the country. For the most up to date information on this legislation, as well as to see if your city or county has additional directives in place, please contact your local representative.

Featured Tools
Finding and Selecting the Best Tenant
For a $2,000 monthly rental: You lose $1,000 if you have your rental on the market for 15 additional days. You lose $1,000+ for evictions. Learn how to quickly find and select a qualified tenant while following the law.
More Tools