Arkansas Tenant-Landlord Law
The Fair Housing Act was created in order to ensure that everyone is treated equally during the housing process. It protects tenants from discrimination when seraching for a rental property. At the federal level the Fair Housing Act protects the following classes…
- National Origin
- Familial Status
Learn about fair housing at the federal level here /landlord-must-know-fair-housing/
Arkansas’s Act 1785 of 2001 declared recognized and declared federal fair housing laws to be a civil right (Ark. Code Ann. § 16-123- 203).
The Act further recognized that the right to seek housing underlies the general public's ability to secure health, safety, and welfare (Ark. Code Ann. § 16-123-301).
- When it is failure to pay rent, the tenant has 3 days to pay you otherwise the eviction notice can be filed with the courts.
- When there is another lease violation (e.g. subletting), the tenant has 3 days to resolve the violation from the point that the eviction notice is served. Otherwise the eviction notice will be filed with the courts.
Early Termination of Lease
When there is not a lease violation, but the landlord or tenant wants to break the lease, the following regulations apply:
Early termination by landlord
If the landlord wishes to terminate the lease early, they have to give a notice period of 30 days if month to month tenancy, or one rental period’s notice.
Early termination by tenant
If the tenant wishes to terminate the lease early, they have to give a notice period of 30 days for month-to-month tenancy or else you are obligated to pay the full amount until the end of the lease agreement (unlike other States, where the landlord must make a reasonable effort to re-rent the rental). .
For more information on Arkansas Landlord Tenant laws please visit their website here."